Chinese Super League Champions: Complete List of Winning Teams

Nine Chinese Super League Champions: A Look at the Title Winners and Their History

The Chinese Super League, which replaced the Jia-A League in 2004, has seen nine different teams crowned champions since its inception. As the 2023 season nears its conclusion, the title race is primarily between past winners, ensuring the list remains at nine for at least another year.

Shenzhen (2004) kicked off the CSL era by securing the inaugural title under financial strain, showcasing a robust defense that led them to victory. However, their subsequent performances dipped, leaving them at the bottom of the league currently.

Dalian Shide (2005) claimed their eighth league title in 2005, marking the end of their dominance before financial troubles led to their demise in 2012. Meanwhile, Shandong Taishan has clinched the title four times, with their first victory in 2006 being a display of sheer dominance.

Changchun Yatai stunned the football world in 2007 by winning the CSL in only their second season, showcasing their potential as a rising force. Despite subsequent challenges, the club has struggled in recent years, seeing relegation and a return to mid-table status.

Beijing Guoan (2009) emerged as champions in a fiercely contested season, boasting a talented squad that narrowly edged out Changchun Yatai for the top spot. The era of Guangzhou Evergrande’s dominance followed, with eight titles highlighting their unparalleled success until financial difficulties forced a reshaping of the team.

Shanghai Port secured the 2018 title, interrupting Guangzhou’s reign, and continues to compete strongly for the championship in the current season. Jiangsu Suning’s triumph in 2020 was marred by the club’s dissolution due to funding issues, leaving a void in the CSL landscape.

Most recently, Wuhan Three Towns claimed the 2022 title in their debut season, fueled by strategic signings that elevated them to the top. However, financial challenges threaten their future success, highlighting the volatile nature of football in China.

As Shandong Taishan and Shanghai Port vie for the 2023 season title, the dynamic nature of the CSL is evident, with potential changes to the list of champions looming at the season’s conclusion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *